

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: Wednesday, 25th May 2016

Committee: Strategic Licensing Committee

Date: Tuesday, 7 June 2016

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Members of the Committee

Keith Roberts (Chairman) Peter Adams Joyce Barrow Vernon Bushell Dean Carroll Peter Cherrington Andrew Davies (Vice Chairman) Nigel Hartin Roger Hughes Duncan Kerr Nic Laurens Robert Macey Vivienne Parry Jon Tandy Robert Tindall

Substitute Members of the Committee

Andrew Bannerman Gwilym Butler John Cadwallader Ted Clarke Pauline Dee Richard Huffer Vince Hunt John Hurst-Knight Christian Lea Jane MacKenzie William Parr David Roberts David Turner Tina Woodward Paul Wynn

Your Committee Officer is:

Emily Marshall Committee Officer

Tel:01743 257717Email:emily.marshall@shropshire.gov.uk



www.shropshire.gov.uk General Enquiries: 0845 678 9000

1 Election of Chairman

To elect a Chairman for the ensuing year.

2 Apologies

To receive apolgies for absence

3 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

To appoint a Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

4 Minutes of Previous Meeting (Pages 1 - 4)

To confirm the Minutes of the meeting held on 30th March 2016

Contact: Shelley Davies (01743 257718)

5 Public Question Time

To receive any public questions or petitions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. The deadline for this meeting is 2nd June 2016.

6 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

7 Appointment to Licensing and Safety Sub-Committee

The Committee is asked to confirm the delegated powers of the Licensing and Safety Sub- Committee for the municipal year 2016 to 2017 (see minute 10 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011) and to appoint its membership. Members will be aware that this Sub-Committee's powers are used mainly for dealing with matters concerning hackney carriage and private hire vehicles and drivers.

8 Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005 Delegations and Administrative Matters

The Committee is asked to confirm the delegated powers of the Licensing Act Sub Committee for the municipal year 2016 to 2017 (see minute 11 of the meeting held on 8th June 2011). This Sub-Committee deals with matters concerning applications made under the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005. The committee will also be asked to confirm the method of appointing members (which can be any three members of this committee).

9 Exercise of Delegated Powers (Pages 5 - 12)

Report of the Transactional Team Manager is attached, marked 9.

Contact: Mandy Beever (0345 678 9026)

10 Records of Proceedings Licensing Act Sub-Committee (Pages 13 - 16)

Copies of the records of proceedings of the Licensing Act Sub-Committee meetings from February 2016 to April 2016 are attached for the Committee's information.

Contact: Shelley Davies (01743 257718)

• 24th March 2016

11 Date of Next Meeting

To note that the next meeting of the Strategic Licensing Committee will be held on 28th September 2016 in the Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall, Shrewsbury.